Non-ionising radiation

Electromagnetic fields which cannot trigger off ionisation processes at atoms or molecules are referred to as non-ionising. Non-ionising radiation is divided into

  • Static electric and magnetic fields (frequency range 0 Hz) e. g. earth's magnetic field,
  • Low-frequency electric and magnetic fields,
  • High-frequency electromagnetic fields (frequency range 100 kHz - 300 GHz), e. g. radio and microwaves,
  • Optical radiation (wave length range 1 mm - 100 nm), e. g. infrared radiation, visible light, UV radiation.